Bill Name: Hydrogen Energy Research and Development Act
Bill Description: A BILL
To support hydrogen energy power as well as research and development, and for other purposes.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled,


I. This Act may be cited as the Hydrogen Energy Research and Development Act of 2008.


Congress finds that:

I. Whereas America currently imports 55 percent of the oil it consumes and this number is expected to grow to 68 percent by 2025.

II. Whereas it is urgent, necessary, and feasible to increase the proportion of clean renewable fuels in the United States transportation fuel supply in a manner that avoids environmental harm and is economically efficient.

III. Whereas hydrogen is the simplest, most abundant element in the universe and the idea of using it as an energy source has been around at least since 1870, when Jules Verne incorporated the concept in his classic science-fiction novel, "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea."

IV. Whereas hydrogen, as a source of power, is believed to be highly efficient and produces almost no pollution.

Resolved, the Senate and House of Representatives shall allocate an additional $40 million for Fiscal Year 2007 and $60 million for Fiscal Year 2008 into the Hydrogen Fuel Initiative (HFI) budget for additional hydrogen power research and fuel cell development.
Bill Author: Michael Wong (D-CA)
Aye: 78
Nay: 11
Present: 19

Senators voting Aye:
Brenda Jones. (R-AL)
Richie Akaka (R-AK)
Dr. UA (R-AZ)
Wyatt Earp (D-AZ)
Beth Ariane (D-AR)
Eduardo Ramirez (D-CA)
Dr. Frank Drake (D-CA)
Tony Brannowich (R-CO)
paragon12321 (D-CT)
NebulaState (D-CT)
Robert Bettis Jr (D-DE)
Jeremiah Jay (D-DE)
Elvish Magi (D-FL)
JoCaVa4 (D-GA)
Reaper (D-GA)
Alice Paul (D-HI)
Hawaii Green (G-HI)
Kevin Ray N. Chua 3 (D-ID)
Bobby Kennedy (D-IL)
paragon12322 (D-IL)
Prescott Husky (R-IA)
James Carville (D-LA)
Shirley Shah (G-ME)
ME GOP Killer (D-ME)
Ben Cardin (D-MD)
Mass Green (G-MA)
Stephen Mason (D-MI)
Michael Jay (D-MN)
Michael Jay 2 (D-MN)
Leonard Ogle (R-MS)
Mason of the Big Canoe (D-MO)
Edward M. Nixon (R-MT)
NebulaWorld (D-MT)
elpmet (D-NE)
UsamaBinForgotted (D-NV)
Jed Bartlet (D-NH)
James Radonis (D-NH)
Mike Bond NJ (D-NJ)
Ed Diaz (D-NJ)
Peppermint (R-NM)
Senator Elvish Magi (D-NY)
Stetson Kennedy (D-NC)
Bigonesen1 (D-NC)
larryreturns (R-ND)
Stryker (D-OH)
Pedophile Eleden (D-OH)
Wallace Breen (R-OK)
Orrin Springs (R-OK)
Chas Wyden (D-OR)
kingdoo (D-OR)
John Winters (D-PA)
Frank Rizzo (D-PA)
Aine Oriana (G-RI)
Tony Benn (D-RI)
stockguy3 (D-SC)
Robert Ingersol (D-SC)
Vincent R. McCarthy (R-SD)
Derek Spencer (R-SD)
Crimson Volunteer (D-TN)
Eleden, Texas Rapist (D-TX)
Chaos (D-UT)
Progressivevoice (D-VT)
Progressivevoice jr. (D-VT)
southergentleman (R-VA)
David Miller (D-WA)
Ken Kennedy Kennedy (D-WA)
stockguy2 (D-WV)
Adam Sarnstrom (D-WI)
Turkey Springs (R-WY)
Lenoard Ogle (R-WY)

Senators voting Nay:
Forrest Gump (R-AL)
The Great Elios (R-FL)
Liz Girard IN 1 (R-IN)
Aureas Domine (R-IA)
Drew Brees (R-LA)
Ghost NE (R-NE)
Augustus Domine (R-NM)
Aldean (R-ND)
Mr. Free Jr. (L-WI)

Senators answering "Present":
Matthew Faustini A1 (R-AK)
Mike Huckabee (R-AR)
ArnieTyle (R-CO)
Matthew Faustini ID2 (R-ID)
namurt (D-IN)
William A. Peffer (D-KS)
Alex (R-KS)
Zap Rowsdower. (R-KY)
Krispy (D-MD)
Bran Oriana (G-MA)
Mike Bond MI (D-MI)
Angela Merkel (R-MS)
Aldric Tinker (D-MO)
George Haus (R-NV)
Amadou Diallo (G-NY)
Crimson, Texas Ranger (D-TX)
Juin (R-UT)
Harry Byrd (D-VA)
Ann Baker (R-WV)

Senators not voting yet: