Bill Name: Hydrogen Energy Research and Development Act
Bill Description: A BILL
To support hydrogen energy power as well as research and development, and for other purposes.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled,


I. This Act may be cited as the Hydrogen Energy Research and Development Act of 2008.


Congress finds that:

I. Whereas America currently imports 55 percent of the oil it consumes and this number is expected to grow to 68 percent by 2025.

II. Whereas it is urgent, necessary, and feasible to increase the proportion of clean renewable fuels in the United States transportation fuel supply in a manner that avoids environmental harm and is economically efficient.

III. Whereas hydrogen is the simplest, most abundant element in the universe and the idea of using it as an energy source has been around at least since 1870, when Jules Verne incorporated the concept in his classic science-fiction novel, "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea."

IV. Whereas hydrogen, as a source of power, is believed to be highly efficient and produces almost no pollution.

Resolved, the Senate and House of Representatives shall allocate an additional $40 million for Fiscal Year 2007 and $60 million for Fiscal Year 2008 into the Hydrogen Fuel Initiative (HFI) budget for additional hydrogen power research and fuel cell development.
Bill Author: Michael Wong (D-CA)
Aye: 74
Nay: 12
Present: 1

Senators voting Aye:
Scott (R-AL)
Matthew Faustini A1 (R-AK)
Addison McConnell (R-AK)
Wyatt Earp (D-AZ)
hefman08 (D-AZ)
Beth Ariane (D-AR)
Mike Huckabee (R-AR)
Eduardo Ramirez (D-CA)
Dr. Frank Drake (D-CA)
valiant2 (D-CO)
Senator Joshua Miller (D-CO)
paragon12321 (D-CT)
NebulaState (D-CT)
Elvish Magi (D-FL)
Christopher Richards (D-FL)
JoCaVa4 (D-GA)
bigonesen5 (D-HI)
Matthew Faustini ID2 (R-ID)
James Gunn (D-ID)
Bobby Kennedy (D-IL)
paragon12322 (D-IL)
Danforth Quayle (R-IN) (D-IA)
Alex (R-KS)
Drew Brees (R-LA)
Krispy (D-MD)
Ben Cardin (D-MD)
Michael Schroeder (D-MA)
Bigonesen4 (D-MA)
Mike Bond MI (D-MI)
Jujubee (R-MI)
Michael Jay (D-MN)
Michael Jay 2 (D-MN)
Angela Merkel (R-MS)
Quien es (D-MS)
dj brown jr (D-MO)
Sod-Off Baldrick (D-MT)
NebulaWorld (D-MT)
elpmet (D-NE)
UsamaBinForgotted (D-NV)
Mitchell Miller (D-NV)
Jed Bartlet (D-NH)
Mike Bond NJ (D-NJ)
Ed Diaz (D-NJ)
BillRichardson (D-NM)
Senator Elvish Magi (D-NY)
James B. Weaver (D-NY)
Stetson Kennedy (D-NC)
Stryker (D-OH)
Pedophile Eleden (D-OH)
Sen Andrew Min OK (R-OK)
Golgamesh Clarktown (R-OK)
Chas Wyden (D-OR)
Elos (D-OR)
John Winters (D-PA)
Frank Rizzo (D-PA)
Tony Benn (D-RI)
Degree1 (D-RI)
stockguy3 (D-SC)
Robert Ingersol (D-SC)
StinkyBoy (R-SD)
Crimson Volunteer (D-TN)
Eleden, Texas Rapist (D-TX)
Sen Andrew Min Ar (R-UT)
Juin (R-UT)
Progressivevoice (D-VT)
Harry Byrd (D-VA)
stockguy2 (D-WV)
Helper Seat (R-WI)
Sox Marshal (R-WY)

Senators voting Nay:
Jeremiah Denton (R-AL)
Chuckles (R-KS)
Zap Rowsdower. (R-KY)
M. Broussard (R-LA)
Jason Bowen III (L-NM)
Thor 2 (L-NC)
Thor (L-ND)
Mr. Free XI (L-SD)
dziggetai (R-TX)
southergentleman (R-VA)
Ann Baker (R-WV)
Mr. Free Jr. (L-WI)

Senators answering "Present":
The Tick (R-WY)

Senators not voting yet:
Jeremiah Jay (D-DE)
Jack A. Jay (D-DE)
Reaper (D-GA)
Alice Paul (D-HI)
It'sbucket (R-IN)
Len Jorring (D-IA)
Sparks (D-ME)
Adam King (D-ME)
Mason of the Big Canoe (D-MO)
DeRoyalgop (R-NE)
James Radonis (D-NH)
larryreturns (R-ND)
Progressivevoice jr. (D-VT)
David Miller (D-WA)
Ken Kennedy Kennedy (D-WA)