Bill Name: Pharmaceutical Advertising Reform Bill
Bill Description: The Pharmaceutical Advertising Reform Bill of 2007

A BILL to authorize the FTC and FCC to change advertising practices by pharmaceutical companies on broadcast television and radio.

SUMMARY: Prohibit pharmaceutical companies from directly marketing prescription drugs to the consumer. The bill will encourage drug advertising to be directed towards physicians, who are best qualified to dispense appropriate medications. Over the counter medicines will not be impacted.

WHEREAS pharmaceutical companies have been increasingly marketing their prescription drugs directly to consumers;

WHEREAS more private citizens are becoming their own doctors, and demanding certain prescriptions for the ailments whether or not they are the correct drug to help cure the problem;

WHEREAS licensed physicians are best qualified to diagnose conditions and prescribe medicines appropriate to those conditions;

WHEREAS pharmaceutical companies already advertise and sell their products to such qualified physicians;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Congress of the United States pass the Pharmaceutical Advertising Reform BIll, thus prohibiting the direct marketing of prescription drugs to the consumer.

I. Authorize the Federal Communications Commission (FCC), within existing frameworks, to prohibit any company whose profile includes the research, marketing, and selling of prescription pharmaceuticals from marketing all prescription medications on television and radio airwaves.

II. The FCC, within existing framework, will prohibit any broadcast outlet from selling advertising time to such companies for the purpose of selling prescription drugs.

III. The Federal Trade Commission will inform the companies of the prohibition, and work with them to ensure that they can continue to fairly market their products to health care professionals.

IV. Government agencies will ensure that over the counter (OTC) medicines, which are created and approved for use by citizens without a prescription, are uneffected by the changes.

V. Pharmaceutical companies will be allowed to advertise their company and their name, and mention research they are doing for certain medical conditions, but will be forbidden from advertising specific drugs for specific illnesses.
Bill Author: james kirk (R-IN)
Aye: 44
Nay: 34
Present: 9

Senators voting Aye:
Eduardo Ramirez (D-CA)
Angela Davis (G-CA)
valiant2 (D-CO)
Joe Biden (G-DE)
Elvish Magi (D-FL)
Christopher Richards (D-FL)
Reaper (D-GA)
Bobby Kennedy (D-IL)
Drew Brees (R-LA)
TomHatesSusanCollins (D-ME)
Krispy (D-MD)
Ben Cardin (D-MD)
Roseanne Connor (G-MA)
Shane (D-MA)
Chas Ford (D-MI)
TomLovesCarlLevin (D-MI)
Michael Jay 2 (D-MN)
Angela Merkel (R-MS)
Quien es (D-MS)
UsamaBinForgotted (D-NV)
Kat Scratch Fever (R-NV)
Jed Bartlet (D-NH)
Ed Diaz (D-NJ)
Savant NJ (D-NJ)
BillRichardson (D-NM)
Senator Elvish Magi (D-NY)
James B. Weaver (D-NY)
Stetson Kennedy (D-NC)
Stryker (D-OH)
Pedophile Eleden (D-OH)
Chas Wyden (D-OR)
Elos (D-OR)
John Winters (D-PA)
Frank Rizzo (D-PA)
Tony Benn (D-RI)
Robert Ingersol (D-SC)
Progressivevoice (D-VT)
Progressivevoice jr. (D-VT)
Harry Byrd (D-VA)
Shane Vaughn-Dugan (D-WV)
Coal Miner (D-WV)
Brett Favre (D-WI)

Senators voting Nay:
Ralph Alan (R-AL)
Matthew Faustini A1 (R-AK)
Beth Ariane (D-AR)
Mike Huckabee (R-AR)
NebulaState (D-CT)
Bucktastic (R-DE)
SJWinkler (L-GA)
Dakota BIock (R-HI)
Matthew Faustini ID2 (R-ID)
It'sbucket (R-IN)
ZapR (R-IA)
Senor Needles (R-IA)
Eddie N Mason (R-KS)
Zap Rowsdower. (R-KY)
M. Broussard (R-LA)
Miles Porter (D-ME)
Kea (R-MN)
Crimson Cardinal, Jr. (R-MO)
NebulaWorld (D-MT)
Solus Ignis XXIII (R-MT)
DeRoyalgop (R-NE)
Rob-NE2 (R-NE)
Martin (R-NH)
D. Hobson (R-ND)
VitterOk (R-OK)
RedBishop (R-SC)
Bill Buckner (R-SD)
Hr_Sveka (R-SD)
dziggetai (R-TX)
dope2 (L-UT)
dope1 (L-UT)
southergentleman (R-VA)
Mil Best (R-WI)
Sox Marshal (R-WY)

Senators answering "Present":
Scott (R-AL)
Marq'd4Death2 (R-ID)
Marq'd4Death3 (R-IN)
Degree1 (D-RI)
Lone Star Husky (R-TX)
David Miller (D-WA)
twoodard (D-WA)
The Tick (R-WY)

Senators not voting yet:
Addison McConnell (R-AK)
Thomas Goldwater (R-AZ)
Joshua Davis (R-AZ)
Mitch Davis (R-CO)
paragon12321 (D-CT)
Matt Eckert (R-HI)
paragon12322 (D-IL)
Nasil Mason (R-KS)
Nathan Fletcher (R-MO)
EldridgeDemNM (D-NM)
Andy Griffith (R-NC)
megapal3.0 (R-ND)
Computer (I-OK)