Bill Name: Educator Tax Rebate Bill of November 2007
Bill Description: The Educator Tax Rebate Bill of November 2007

A BILL to provide tax relief to public and private K-12 educators across the United States.

SUMMARY: Increasing the tax deduction for teachers who paid for classroom supplies out-of-pocket from $250 to $400 per year. This bill will return money to educators and allow them to invest in their pupils.

WHEREAS Kindergarten through Grade 12 teachers are the backbone of the American education system, both public and private;

WHEREAS the federal government has already recognized the financial contribution educators make for buying their own classroom supplies by allowing a $250 tax deduction;

WHEREAS the cost of buying supplies is increasing, and teachers should be paid back for making a personal monetary investment in their students;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Congress of the United States pass the Educator Tax Rebate Bill of November 2007.

I. Amend the Internal Revenue Code Section 62(a)(2)(D).

"$250" shall be stricken and replaced with "$400"

II. Change the instructions of the 1040 Form, Line 23 to allow for "$400" for the purposes of filing taxes.

III. The deduction shall apply to all K-12 educators who meet the eligibility requirements as currently set forth in Section 62 of the Code.

IV. The change shall be made effective for the first complete tax year which follows the date on which the bill is signed into law.

Respectfully submitted,
Rep. James Kirk (R-Indiana)

Rep. Corey D. Bowen I (C-Illinois)
Rep. Corey D. Bowen III (C-Texas)
Rep. Corey D. Bowen (C-California)
Rep. NebulaIL (D-Illinois)
Rep. NebulaKY (D-Kentucky)
Rep. NebulaNY (D-New York)
Rep. NebulaPA (D-Pennsylvania)
Rep. Hubert Farnsworth (R-Utah)
Rep. John Marshall (D-California)
Rep. GreenGrich (C-Georgia)
Rep. Crimson Cardinal (R-Missouri)
Rep. Crimson Cavalier (R-Virginia)
Rep. Crimson Utah (R-Utah)
Rep. Matthew Faustini CA (R-California)
Rep. Matthew Faustini CO (R-Colorado)
Rep. Matthew Faustini (R)(R-Florida)
Rep. Matthew Faustini TX (R-Texas)
Sen. Angela Merkel (R-Mississippi)
Sen. Jed Bartlet (D-New Hampshire)
Sen. NebulaState (D-Connecticut)
Sen. NebulaWorld (D-Montana)
Sen. Drew Brees (R-Louisiana)
Sen. Crimson Cardinal, Jr. (R-Missouri)
Sen. Crimson Maine (R-Maine)
Sen. Matthew Faustini A1 (R-Alaska)
Sen. Matthew Faustini ID2(R-Idaho)

Amendments from the original proposal:
1) Roman Numeral I amended; Section 62(d)(1) was stricken.
2) Roman Numeral III amended; eligibility requirements (such as number of hours worked, what qualifies as a "school" under state law) will be left as currently expressed in the Code. The original bill had rewording which stated essentially the same thing, so it was cleaned up to avoid redundancy.

Supporting information:
-- There are an estimated 3,601,000 public and private educators in the US in 2007 according to the Department of Education. (

-- The average salary for teachers in 2004–05 was $47,750. (

-- The tax savings provided by this bill which teachers could directly reinvest in their classrooms would equal $540,150,000 using the Dept. of Education workforce estimates, multiplied by $150, assuming all educators claim the deduction.

-- Additional information regarding current (real life) tax law:

Bill Author: james kirk (R-IN)
Aye: 81
Nay: 10
Present: 5

Senators voting Aye:
Scott (R-AL)
Ralph Alan (R-AL)
Matthew Faustini A1 (R-AK)
Addison McConnell (R-AK)
Chuck Norris Eleden (D-AZ)
Beth Ariane (D-AR)
Mike Huckabee (R-AR)
Eduardo Ramirez (D-CA)
Robert BettisCA (R-CA)
Savant (D-CO)
dzgCO (R-CO)
paragon12321 (D-CT)
NebulaState (D-CT)
Glen Davis (D-DE)
Davis Vitter Mason (D-DE)
Elvish Magi (D-FL)
Reaper (D-GA)
Liz Girard GA (R-GA)
whatdoyouwant73 (D-HI)
Dakota BIock (R-HI)
Matthew Faustini ID2 (R-ID)
Marq'd4Death2 (R-ID)
Bobby Kennedy (D-IL)
paragon12322 (D-IL)
It'sbucket (R-IN)
Marq'd4Death3 (R-IN)
Senor Needles (R-IA)
Jerry Brown (D-IA)
dfa01 (C-KY)
Drew Brees (R-LA)
M. Broussard (R-LA)
Miles Porter (D-ME)
TomHatesSusanCollins (D-ME)
Ben Cardin (D-MD)
Roseanne Connor (G-MA)
Shane (D-MA)
Chas Ford (D-MI)
TomLovesCarlLevin (D-MI)
Michael Jay (D-MN)
Michael Jay 2 (D-MN)
Angela Merkel (R-MS)
Quien es (D-MS)
dj brown jr (D-MO)
Nathan Fletcher (R-MO)
Sod-Off Baldrick (D-MT)
NebulaWorld (D-MT)
DeRoyalgop (R-NE)
Rob-NE2 (R-NE)
UsamaBinForgotted (D-NV)
Kat Scratch Fever (R-NV)
Jed Bartlet (D-NH)
Martin (R-NH)
Ed Diaz (D-NJ)
Savant NJ (D-NJ)
Ron Goatse (L-NM)
Senator Elvish Magi (D-NY)
James B. Weaver (D-NY)
Stetson Kennedy (D-NC)
Joker of the Atlantic (R-NC)
D. Hobson (R-ND)
Begoner4 (D-ND)
Stryker (D-OH)
Pedophile Eleden (D-OH)
VitterOk (R-OK)
Corey Bowen OK (C-OK)
Chas Wyden (D-OR)
John Winters (D-PA)
Frank Rizzo (D-PA)
Tony Benn (D-RI)
Degree1 (D-RI)
RedBishop (R-SC)
dzgSC (R-SC)
Bill Buckner (R-SD)
dziggetai (R-TX)
Lone Star Husky (R-TX)
dope2 (L-UT)
dope1 (L-UT)
Progressivevoice (D-VT)
Progressivevoice jr. (D-VT)
Harry Byrd (D-VA)
Shane Vaughn-Dugan (D-WV)
Coal Miner (D-WV)
Mil Best (R-WI)
Brett Favre (D-WI)
Sox Marshal (R-WY)
The Tick (R-WY)

Senators voting Nay:
Viagra Dole (L-KS)
Socialist Sebelius (L-KS)

Senators answering "Present":
BillRichardson (D-NM)
Elos (D-OR)
Hr_Sveka (R-SD)
southergentleman (R-VA)
David Miller (D-WA)

Senators not voting yet:
Christopher Richards (D-FL)
Krispy (D-MD)
twoodard (D-WA)