Bill Name: Stem Cell Research Enhancement Act
Bill Description: AN ACT To amend the Public Health Service Act to provide for human embryonic stem cell research.

SUMMARY: This bill allows for the federal funding of embryonic stem cell research.


This Act may be cited as the Stem Cell Research Enhancement Act.


(a) In General the Secretary shall conduct and support research that utilizes human embryonic stem cells in accordance with this section.

(B) Ethical Requirements- Human embryonic stem cells shall be eligible for use in any research conducted or supported by the Secretary if the cells meet each of the following:

(1) The stem cells were derived from human embryos that have been donated from in vitro fertilization clinics, were created for the purposes of fertility treatment, and were in excess of the clinical need of the individuals seeking such treatment.

(2) Prior to the consideration of embryo donation and through consultation with the individuals seeking fertility treatment, it was determined that the embryos would never be implanted in a woman and would otherwise be discarded.

(3) The individuals seeking fertility treatment donated the embryos with written informed consent and without receiving any financial or other inducements to make the donation.

(4) Guidelines- The Secretary, in consultation with the Director of NIH, shall issue final guidelines to carry out this section.

(d) Reporting Requirements- The Secretary shall annually prepare and submit to the appropriate committees of the Congress a report describing the activities carried out under this section during the preceding fiscal year, and including a description of whether and to what extent research under subsection (a) has been conducted in accordance with this section.


Senator Roseanne Connor, Massachusetts
Senator Angela Davis, California
Senator NebulaState, Connecticut
Senator NebulaWorld, Montana
Representative NebulaKY, Kentucky
Representative NebulaIL, Illinois
Representative NebulaNY, New York
Representative NebulaPA, Pennsylvania
Representative Ninja Warrior, R-Florida
Representative John Marshall D-CA
Sen. Frank Rizzo (D-PA)
Sen. Harry Byrd (D-PA)
Rep. Bernard O'Higgins (D-MI)
Rep. George Docking (D-KS)
Rep. Elbert Carvel (D-DE)
Bill Author: Ben Cardin (D-MD)
Aye: 56
Nay: 37
Present: 3

Senators voting Aye:
Chuck Norris Eleden (D-AZ)
Eduardo Ramirez (D-CA)
Robert BettisCA (R-CA)
Savant (D-CO)
paragon12321 (D-CT)
NebulaState (D-CT)
Glen Davis (D-DE)
Elvish Magi (D-FL)
Christopher Richards (D-FL)
Reaper (D-GA)
whatdoyouwant73 (D-HI)
Dakota BIock (R-HI)
Bobby Kennedy (D-IL)
paragon12322 (D-IL)
Jerry Brown (D-IA)
Drew Brees (R-LA)
Miles Porter (D-ME)
TomHatesSusanCollins (D-ME)
Krispy (D-MD)
Ben Cardin (D-MD)
Shane (D-MA)
Chas Ford (D-MI)
TomLovesCarlLevin (D-MI)
Michael Jay (D-MN)
Michael Jay 2 (D-MN)
Angela Merkel (R-MS)
dj brown jr (D-MO)
Sod-Off Baldrick (D-MT)
NebulaWorld (D-MT)
UsamaBinForgotted (D-NV)
Kat Scratch Fever (R-NV)
Jed Bartlet (D-NH)
Savant NJ (D-NJ)
BillRichardson (D-NM)
Ron Goatse (L-NM)
Senator Elvish Magi (D-NY)
James B. Weaver (D-NY)
Stetson Kennedy (D-NC)
Begoner4 (D-ND)
Stryker (D-OH)
Pedophile Eleden (D-OH)
Chas Wyden (D-OR)
Elos (D-OR)
John Winters (D-PA)
Frank Rizzo (D-PA)
Tony Benn (D-RI)
Degree1 (D-RI)
Lone Star Husky (R-TX)
Progressivevoice (D-VT)
Progressivevoice jr. (D-VT)
Harry Byrd (D-VA)
Shane Vaughn-Dugan (D-WV)
Mil Best (R-WI)
Brett Favre (D-WI)

Senators voting Nay:
Scott (R-AL)
Ralph Alan (R-AL)
Matthew Faustini A1 (R-AK)
Addison McConnell (R-AK)
Beth Ariane (D-AR)
Mike Huckabee (R-AR)
dzgCO (R-CO)
Davis Vitter Mason (D-DE)
Liz Girard GA (R-GA)
Matthew Faustini ID2 (R-ID)
Marq'd4Death2 (R-ID)
It'sbucket (R-IN)
Marq'd4Death3 (R-IN)
Senor Needles (R-IA)
Viagra Dole (L-KS)
Socialist Sebelius (L-KS)
dfa01 (C-KY)
M. Broussard (R-LA)
DeRoyalgop (R-NE)
Rob-NE2 (R-NE)
Martin (R-NH)
Joker of the Atlantic (R-NC)
D. Hobson (R-ND)
VitterOk (R-OK)
Corey Bowen OK (C-OK)
RedBishop (R-SC)
dzgSC (R-SC)
Bill Buckner (R-SD)
Hr_Sveka (R-SD)
dziggetai (R-TX)
dope2 (L-UT)
dope1 (L-UT)
Coal Miner (D-WV)
Sox Marshal (R-WY)
The Tick (R-WY)

Senators answering "Present":
Quien es (D-MS)
Ed Diaz (D-NJ)
southergentleman (R-VA)

Senators not voting yet:
Roseanne Connor (G-MA)
Nathan Fletcher (R-MO)
David Miller (D-WA)
twoodard (D-WA)